Not signed in (Sign In)

Discussion Tag Cloud

Categories

Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthor6FlagsManiac
    • CommentTimeMay 21st 2016 edited

I've finally gotten around to starting my FVD++ tutorials, the first and second part are both up on youtube now! I've also included a shorter video for more advanced users with some advanced tips! This is my first time doing anything like this so I'm sorry if there are any areas I'm unclear on or if I make any mistakes (I'll try not to move the camera around as much in the future, sorry about that!). If you have any questions at all please use this thread or the comments section to ask and I will be sure to answer everyone's questions with as much detail as possible! I hope you enjoy, please leave feedback, It's the best way for me to improve!

Link to my channel where you will find the videos!
    • CommentAuthorBigbad
    • CommentTimeMay 21st 2016

I watched the advanced video. When you're using quadratic blend in and blend out functions sequentially, you definitely end up with something that looks like the cubic transition (which I've just realized looks like a cube root, but whatever). It seems like it would be very difficult to line them up perfectly so that the piece-wise function is differentiable. What are your thoughts on this? How much do you think it matters?

(Mathematician, not engineer.)

Anyway, I'm always happy to see people discussing FVD++. I've gotten good with some aspects of the program, but there are still elements that I can't make (top hat).
    You can definitely line them up perfectly, it just takes a bit of fiddling around. The point is that it should end up looking like a cubic transition, however by essentially splitting the cubic into two parts you are given more control over the shape of the transition - more so than you would by simply using a cubic transition.