Not signed in (Sign In)

Discussion Tag Cloud

Categories

Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

• CommentAuthorMilBee
    • CommentTimeSep 11th 2016 edited

Introduction

So I am a civil engineering student graduating in December and my school requires that each student does a senior project. This project is done in a group of 3 or 4 and the school leaves it up to the students to pick the project. The only requirement is that it uses most, if not all, of the classes that we took in college.

My group, consisting of me and two other students, chose to design an apartment complex for the school. The housing at my school is sub-par so this project was very easy to justify. As a group, we have to survey the site, design everything, make a cost estimation and present this all at the end of the semester.

The building we are designing is a four story steel structure. On floor 2-4, there will be 6 units that house 4 people. Each unit has a living room, kitchen, balcony, 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, storage and a washer/dryer.

Work Already Completed

My group and I chose a site near campus and surveyed it last semester. All the data from the GPS was put into Civil 3D and a site map was made which can be seen below. The building floor plan (although subject to change) has been placed on the map to give you an idea of where it will be located. We are planning on putting a parking lot in the front and back of the building with a road connecting them on the right side.

I am in charge of the structural design for the building and I am using STAAD Pro to assist me in the design. Doing all the calculations by hand would take an eternity. All I have to do is put the geometry of the building in, put the dead, live, roof live, snow and wind loads in and the program does the rest of the work for me.